Go Back OFN Forums > Shop and Tool Talk > Welders and Welding

Welders and Welding Which welder is best and the best way's to use them.


Welders and Welding Which welder is best and the best way's to use them.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-11-2008, 06:33 PM
DeltaIX's Avatar
DeltaIX DeltaIX is offline
Junior Fabricator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 2
60 Amp Receptacle???

Hey all, I'm getting ready to wire in my new-to-me Lincoln PM255 and in the literature it stated that it requires a 60 amp circuit. I looked in the usual Box stores, the local weld shop and even contacted Lincoln's support. All I can find is 50 amp receptacles. Lincoln sent me a diagram of the one normally supplied with the unit and I saw it was rated for 50 amps. Can anyone tell me if this is OK? Am I just being overly cautious?

Also, I love the site. I've been lurking for a while and learned so much. Thank you to everyone that makes this board so great. Wow that sounded queer....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2008, 06:53 PM
masterfabr's Avatar
masterfabr masterfabr is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: coffeyville,ks
Posts: 179
Where you going to find a 60 amp breaker? Use the 50 amp recep that it mates to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2008, 10:40 PM
shaggy10000's Avatar
shaggy10000 shaggy10000 is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wickenburg, AZ
Posts: 1,227
I dont think i have seen a 60 amp 220 plug. I would stick with the 50 you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2008, 10:58 PM
masterfabr's Avatar
masterfabr masterfabr is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: coffeyville,ks
Posts: 179
So far as I know there is no such thing as a 60 amp plug or recep.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2008, 11:52 PM
Captainfab's Avatar
Captainfab Captainfab is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Coeur d'Alene Idaho
Posts: 2,660
I have that same 50 amp plug/receptacle on all my machines. Some of my machines are on a circuit that has a 70 amp breaker even though the machines will draw more than that at full power. I've just been too cheap to upgrade the wireing and breaker. I've tripped the breaker a few times with no visable damage to the plugs or receptacles. I believe with machines that draw over 50 amps the manufacturers intend for the machine to be hard wired to the building.

If you tend to plug in and unplug your welder very often I would recommend checking the wire connections on both ends every so often. I seem to be always switching machines around and once in a while the wires will work loose causing arcing, sparking....and sometimes scaring the crap outta me
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2008, 07:47 AM
Graham08's Avatar
Graham08 Graham08 is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rootstown, OH
Posts: 1,191
I'm sure you're okay with the 50A receptacle, because of the duty cycle of the machine. The receptacle and plug are rated for 50A continuous (100%) duty with a factor of safety. Your machine is most likely 60A at 40% duty cycle. The NEC also allows you to run smaller extension cord than would normally be allowed for that circuit for the same reason.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2008, 10:01 AM
DeltaIX's Avatar
DeltaIX DeltaIX is offline
Junior Fabricator
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 2
Thanks for the help guys. I'll just grab the one I saw at Lowes.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2008, 10:26 AM
masterfabr's Avatar
masterfabr masterfabr is offline
Master Fabricator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: coffeyville,ks
Posts: 179
fyi ,SO FAR AS i KNOW ALL PLUGS ARE AMP SPECIFIC.sO THE SHORT ANSWER IS THAT IF THE PLUG ON THE MACHINE PLUGS INTO THE RECEP YOU HAVE YOU CANNOT GO WRONG. dAMN CAPS LOCK! lol!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-13-2008, 03:43 PM
bialecki's Avatar
bialecki bialecki is offline
Junior Fabricator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
60 amp Circuit Breaker, Not Recepticle

Your unit is calling for a 60 amp "circuit breaker" due to the current draw when operating at the higher end of your welder. If you put in a 50 amp "breaker" you may find that you will be tripping the circuit when you operate at high current draws. The "plug" needs to mate up with the appropriate "receptacle". Your wiring also needs to meet code, for instance if you are going to use a 60 amp circuit breaker you will need to wire the circuit with #2 wire, (pretty heavy duty).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
Copyright 2012, Offroad Fabrication Network