Go Back OFN Forums > Shop and Tool Talk > Benders and Bending

Benders and Bending Which bender is best? How do you use a bender? How do you calculate bends? Everything Bender related...

Benders and Bending Which bender is best? How do you use a bender? How do you calculate bends? Everything Bender related...

Old 07-26-2016, 06:28 PM
Junior Fabricator

Critique my tube bender design, be gentle my first post

Hello all, thanks for having me on the OFN! Some of you may see me post on several other forums but I finally made it over!

Ok, so I've been bending tube with a rogue fab alpha for a few years. I mostly bend 1.25 SCH 40 or 1.25 .120 wall DOM. Both of which I bend out the same die. As of recently I've been wanting to expand into some different size martial. I really didn't want to buy any more dies, or invest any more into the alpha so I put it up for sale and sold it for 500 (not bad as I have around 700 or so in it new)

This time around I really wanted to go with full hydraulic and not air over hydraulic. This decision isn't cheap as most know, hence why most people don't go this route. This is the start of my build, it will take me some time to complete but I will update it as I go along.

I did a pile of research on benders. I ran across a 1.25 SCH 40 pro tools 105 die semi local to me for 225 bucks so I picked it up. Knowing then I was going to run PT dies I could either go with 3 options. Pro tools, JMR or pro bender. JMR stood out as the obvious choice to me after contacting troy at swag off road and picking his brain. Plus the price was right 249 + 51 dollars shipping on just the bender itself. This is the race line with no handle attachment and you must order it directly from JMR.

Untitled by Jay Gordon, on Flickr

The JMR bender has bushing that hold the arms together when changing dies and the material is 4130 HT 5/8s thick arms. by saving 100 bucks over PT the only thing you don't get is powder coat.