Go Back OFN Forums > Fabrication > UTV/Buggy Fabrication

UTV/Buggy Fabrication For all those doing your own fabrication on the Yamaha Rhino and other UTV's

UTV/Buggy Fabrication For all those doing your own fabrication on the Yamaha Rhino and other UTV's

Old 05-14-2014, 01:24 PM
Junior Fabricator

Fng

Well, Title says it all (Freakin New Guy), literally, new to all of it, this forum, side by sides, and fabrication.

So after years of motocross and 4 wheelers, I decided to make the jump to Side by Sides. I ended up getting a RZR XP 1000. While I waited for my machine to arrive, I decided it would be way more fun to build my parts instead of buying them. Plus, I would still have the tools for other projects.

Let me start by saying, I am completely new to metal work, not just tube stuff. My old man was one of those guys that could do anything, but unfortunately he didn't teach me metal work. I inherited some of his tools, but they were old school items that were tough for a newbie to handle.

So I started doing side jobs to pay for more updated tools (I'm a computer geek, not any kind of tradesman). Here is what I ended up getting

Miller 211
Hypertherm Powermax 45
JD2 Model 3 with SWAG conversion
JD2 Notchmaster
60gal 11SCFM compressor
Milwaukee Portaband w/ SWAG table
Bend Tech EZ3D

I do have other items already
Abrasive chop saw
4" grinder
etc...

Now the problem is learning how to use them properly.

The first project I want to tackle is a front bumper for my RZR. I figured this should be a pretty easy start, but my first attempt was a little less than awesome, which is what brought me here.

So, here are the questions:

1) Do you notch before you bend? I figured the bending would be first, but I found that the bend can seem to keep me from lining up the notcher properly.