Go Back OFN Forums > Fabrication > Mini Fabrication

Mini Fabrication Mini Choppers, Mini Sandrails....Pint sized anything Fabrication

Mini Fabrication Mini Choppers, Mini Sandrails....Pint sized anything Fabrication

Old 03-01-2007, 11:41 AM
Fabricator

Polaris ATV gets a new Rollcage Chassis

Hi Everyone,

This is the start of my 1st Chassis build. I'm new to fabrication and just picked up welding last August. I had a need to better protect myself when riding my 05' Polaris Sportsman 700 EFI. I wanted a wider footprint as well becuase I ride a lot of off camber trails in the Rockies. Having a chassis with a roll cage seemed to be the way to go. Only fear now is if I drive off a cliff I can't bail as I'm strapped in. I guess if this happens then I get to check how well my welds hold up.
I tore down my ATV to the chassis last October. I've had Bend-Tech Pro since January 07'. I'll start with a pix of the design in BT-Pro. I have already to date, completed 90% of the chassis.
Follow me along as I have 1 month to get everything back inside the new frame. Oh, Specs. My ATV was 4' wide and 6' long. Now it will be 5' wide and 8' long. Dimensions are from tires outside edge. The origianl frame weighed 90lbs. The new one so far is spec'd for 143lbs using 1.5x.095 DOM A513 steel. BT-Pro calls for 119' of tube. I think it'll have another 15' by the time I'm done. Feel free to add thoughts or comments.

Marvin
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BT-Pro Line.jpg
Views:	1041
Size:	120.0 KB
ID:	1629  
Old 03-01-2007, 11:54 AM
Fabricator

More pix of my build

Here are a couple more pix. I started with the center section and wanted to get the cage out of the way so when I add the bottom I wouldn't have to work so high up on the table if I added the cage last.