Go Back OFN Forums > Fabrication > Offroad Fabrication

Offroad Fabrication Offroad Fabrication

Offroad Fabrication Offroad Fabrication

Old 03-25-2016, 07:44 AM
Junior Fabricator

Tough Truck Build

Hey guys, longtime lurker, first time poster. I've wanted to build *something* fun since forever, been doing a lot of tool collecting, reading, shop tweaking, reading and more reading. Like my screen name says, I'm in Ohio, the flat part- no trails, no desert, closest offroad park is a couple hour drive. We do at least have County Fairs, so I thought a Tough Truck would be fun, and I could actually use it without taking a week off work.

Build plan will look like this:
1st gen Ranger reg cab body and frame
351 W, C6, BW1356
Full width axles- TTB front
full HREW 1.75 x.120 cage
Coilovers in the front, Chevy 64" in the rear
@33" tires
Move the heavy parts back for better weight distribution
Target price: $5000
I'm an engineer by trade, so this gives me a chance just to build stuff and not do paperwork. I'm also a cheapskate, so a lot of my material used to be something else, buying new is last resort.

I had a Ranger cab and frame sitting in the weeds from an idea that fizzled out 10 years ago, and searched CL till I found a good part-out.

Picked up this '87 F-250 drivetrain for $400. It had a Dana 50 front, and Sterling Rear, ridiculous overkill in the rear, but should not need any strengthening to hold up indefinitely.

Mocking up everything, I had the frame down to only a couple crossmembers and the rails. There is no standard rulebook, so I printed off about 6 sets of rules just to be sure I wouldn't be re-doing something later. A few tracks have wheelbase rules, so I targetted 120".

Using CAD (cardboard aided design) to put together a leaf hanger.

Pretty pleased with how it turned out.

Also built spring mounts and plates. It turns out I'm working for $4 or $5 dollars an hour doing this easily available stuff, but its therapeutic and mine.