Go Back OFN Forums > Badland Buggy Group > Buggy Builds

Buggy Builds Badland Buggy Complete Builds

Buggy Builds Badland Buggy Complete Builds

Old 04-01-2009, 08:46 PM
Master Fabricator

My next buggy ...

Some of you may know me, I don't know. I've been building and wheeling buggies and Jeep since about 1998. I'm not going to say that I'm any sort of master-fabricator or anything but I do do a lot of home-fab and this is my third all-tube chassis and about 5th rig overall. My last buggy, which I called Thanatos, I built from scratch using all 1.5" HREW, propaned 350, TH350, NP205, 404 unimog axles, then went to rockwells with 42" IROKs. This was one of the best rigs I'd ever owned and was the recipient of all my years of mistakes and learning in terms of fabrication. I built it to take relentless abuse for a min. of 2 years and be a reliable thrasher. It was. I wheeled it closer to 3 years and was one of those regulars at the southeastern parks. I was almost always the first one to show, hit every obstacle, and last one to leave, very rarely busted, never busted so bad that it ended the weekend. I attributed it to the engineering and selection of reliable parts. Unfortunately, this buggy's lifespan came to an abrupt end in Harlan, KY when I double-endoe'd it breaking 5 vertebrae in my girlfriend's back and tweaking the chassis very badly. In addition, when the ambulance came to get her they had to cut portions of the cage out to get her out safely. The thread can be found here.

In its hayday, this is what Thanatos looked like and some build pics can be found here.