Go Back OFN Forums > Badland Buggy Group > Buggy Builds

Buggy Builds Badland Buggy Complete Builds

Buggy Builds Badland Buggy Complete Builds

Old 07-27-2008, 03:21 AM
Junior Fabricator

Need help on the chassis for the buggy

I'm completely new to this fabrication field so please do ignore my silly questions if any.
We're at present building a Baja vehicle with a 250cc 9hp LOMBARDINI gasoline engine.I have doubts on the chassis and the rollcage of the vehicle.
Is it better if the chassis is inclusive of the rollcage or is building the rollcage separately and bolting it to the chassis more effective ?? the width of the vehicle cannot exceed 64 inches and the rollcage can only be steel.
Old 07-27-2008, 09:28 AM
Master Fabricator

Sounds like a good candidate for Bend Tech Pro
www.baileighindustrial.com
920-482-3220

Quality Metal Fabrication Equipment
Old 07-27-2008, 10:04 AM
Master Fabricator

On something that is this small I'd absolutely recommend that the chassis and the cage be one piece; if for no other reason then weight. The bolted joints represent a "potential" weak spot, they also will out weight the same linear length of tube by as much as 100x the length of tube the joint would replace.

I'll second the BT recommendation!
Old 07-27-2008, 10:16 AM
Master Fabricator

I'll third the bend tec comment. It's the coolest thing I have seen in along time.
Old 07-27-2008, 01:37 PM
Junior Fabricator

Thanks a lot guys.......now moving on to the suspension system...what suspension type do you recommend for this config? The vehicle is rear wheel drive.As of now we've decided on A beam in the front...
Old 07-27-2008, 01:55 PM
Master Fabricator

Quote:
Originally Posted by souledge View Post
A beam in the front...

"Beam" as in 'VW'?
"A" as in 'A-Arm'?

Not that i have an answer, I'm just not clear...
Old 07-28-2008, 12:29 AM
Junior Fabricator

Quote:
Originally Posted by entropy View Post