Go Back OFN Forums > Fabrication > Fabrication 101

Fabrication 101 Everyone has to start somewhere and for some, theOFN might be that somewhere.

Fabrication 101 Everyone has to start somewhere and for some, theOFN might be that somewhere.

Old 04-06-2015, 04:06 PM
Junior Fabricator

JD2 model 4 and Bend tech issue

Hey guys. Real quick history on this problem. I have been using this combination for 5 years or so. I have had great results with it until recently and for the life of me cannot figure out why. I have called Bend Tech and they say they cannot help me because I'm on the 5X software. So I went ahead and purchased the upgrade to 7x but haven't installed it yet.

I am working with the same die and material I have had in my library since day 1. I'm using a 1.75 5.5 clr die with a calibrated 6.55. Material is 1.75 DOM .120 wall. My dim location is set to end as the model 4 is a rotary compression bender. I have calculated spring back using the chart so that I have a spring angle displayed. My initial take up with this material is 10*. So a quick example of a typical bend is take up + desired angle + spring back. So 10* + 90* + 7* = 107* this gives me exactly 90*. My setting is Apex as well.

Saturday I began to design an interior cage for my K5. This is when it hit the fan. I wasted 2 sticks of tubing and 12 hrs. trying to figure out what was wrong.

I desired a hoop that was 46" from floor to center. 60" wide at the floor and 46-3/4" wide at the top. I had a slight kick at 27" from the floor in each up right. I added 1" of cut off to each end.

I ended up with 63" wide at the bottom, 28"from the floor to first kick and 26" from the floor to second kick.