Go Back OFN Forums > Fabrication > Cycle Fabrication

Cycle Fabrication Old School, Choppers, Bobbers, and Customs

Cycle Fabrication Old School, Choppers, Bobbers, and Customs

Old 10-22-2009, 01:10 PM
Master Fabricator

Project: Pimpcycle (bicycle)

Hey all, so this is my first project thread anywhere, ever. I've done many things but rarely photo-document them...

Anywho, this is a continuing work in progress but this is what I've got so far:

Started out with a stock, women's CCM bike of unknown age that we found in the basement of my brother's new house.

The bike was in awesome shape aside from the dirt and grime, plus it was free. Even the tires and tubes are in awesome shape...

Started with just a simple chop, gave it a better stance over all. Took about 6" out of the seat post and hacked the back fender.

Stripped all the extras off it, only left the gear selector so I could keep the rear derailleur in check. That will be getting shaved as well.

I wasn't too crazy about the way the rear fender was sitting, especially with my janky little bracket, but it was mostly just to see what the bike would look like.

Scrubbed a bitch down, and debated keeping the factory brown. It did look kinda cool, but not my bag.
before:

after:

Stripped the whole thing down for paint and sanded it.

While I had it apart I decided to modify the rear fender, for a more secure mounting, and so it didn't look like dog poop.

Didn't take as many pics of this as I probably should have for a proper project thread but oh well.. You get the gist of what was done.

Sprayed the whole thing flat black with some leftover rattle cans I had (will get a proper paint job this winter)

Rims too

Did some small pinstriping work for a bit of accent. (wanted to do a red line around each rim but I didn't have any red paint and not enough red pinstripe)

And here she sits so far.

Definitely way more comfortable to ride than it might look.

To come:

"Ape hanger" handle bars